DUID in Florida
Arrested for Drugged Driving in Seminole County?
Not only does the state of Florida prohibit drunk driving but also driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs. The penalties for DUID are similar to an alcohol-related offense. If you have been charged with DUID, it is critical to obtain legal counsel from an experienced lawyer.
At The Law Office of David A. Webster, P.A., we have handled thousands of cases and understand what it takes to get the most favorable outcomes possible. Our Seminole County criminal defense attorneys can investigate your case, examine all of the evidence, determine whether or not police followed proper procedure, and develop an effective defense strategy just for you.
Drugged Driving Definition & Penalties
A motorist in Florida can be convicted of a drug DUI for driving or being in “actual physical control” of a vehicle while under the influence of specific harmful chemicals or controlled substances. The consequences of a drugged driving conviction depend on the circumstances of the case.
In general, the first offense is punishable by a maximum jail sentence of six months, fines of up to $1,000, and license suspension of up to a year. The second offense within five years of a prior DUI conviction is punishable by a maximum jail sentence of nine months, $2,000 in fines, and license revocation for at least five years.
Call 407-862-9222 for Experienced Legal Representation
Our Seminole County criminal defense lawyers understand that you are facing considerable anxiety and many unknowns at this time. From beginning to end, we can offer you our highly-rated and award-winning legal support to give you some peace of mind during this trying time. Let us protect your rights, reputation, and freedom immediately.