Arrested for Drug Possession in Seminole County?
Secure the Representation You Need for Drug Possession
Drug possession is a criminal offense that occurs when someone is holding a controlled substance for personal use. Although the penalties for drug possession will vary, the state of Florida offers very little leniency for such crimes and offenders may be facing a felony charge. With that said, if you’ve been arrested by police for drug possession, your choice of representation is absolutely crucial in securing a favorable outcome in your case.
As our client, you can expect:
- Award-winning service
- 24/7 availability
- Representation from attorneys with prosecutorial experience
- A legal team with a hard-earned reputation and the trust of the community
At The Law Office of David A. Webster, P.A., our criminal defense attorneys have over 30 years of combined experience offering aggressive advocacy to the criminally accused. We offer a unique perspective in crafting the best possible defense on behalf of our clients and we go above and beyond to ensure that our clients receive the undivided attention they need.
Don’t face these charges alone. To speak to a dedicated legal team member, call The Law Office of David A. Webster, P.A. today at 407-862-9222.
What Are the Penalties for Drug Possession in Florida?
In order for the prosecution to convict a defendant of drug possession, they must establish the elements of the crime which include the following: whether the accused had knowledge of the drug, whether the seized substance is actually considered a controlled substance under state law, and whether the accused had control of the drug. Should you choose to retain our legal services, you can be confident that we will be thorough in our investigation of the criminal allegations you face and we will work tirelessly to fight the evidence presented against you.
Depending on the severity of the charge, penalties for drug possession can include:
- 1st degree misdemeanor: Up to 1 year in jail plus additional court costs
- 3rd degree felony: Up to 5 years in prison
- 1st degree felony: Up to 30 years in prison and $250,000 in fines
How Much Coke is a Felony in Florida?
Owning more than 10 grams of coke is a felony in Florida. The Sunshine State has made possession of cocaine a serious offense, under Statute 893.13(6)(a). When the state arrests a person for a felony crime, it assigns that crime a certain level as a primary offense. The level is then assigned a specific number of points. Possession of a Schedule II drug, such as cocaine, is a level 3 offense (with a level 10 offense being the most serious). A level 3 offense, under the scoresheet preparation manual’s sentencing guidelines, is assigned 16 points.
Schedule a Free Consultation Today
Our Seminole County drug crime lawyers understand that there are few things more frightening than being charged with a crime. Securing proper representation can mean the difference between obtaining a favorable outcome in your case and facing possible jail time. From the moment you come to The Law Office of David A. Webster, you can trust that we are ready to take on your case – and win.