Breaking Down Labels & Laws for Sex Offenders vs Predators.
Facing life being labeled either a sexual offender or a predator can be overwhelming, so today, we are going to break down the laws for sexual offenders vs predators. Knowing your rights is an important part of moving forward. Understanding the laws can help prevent further problems down the road. We recommend connecting with your local law enforcement office for the specific ordinances in your area because they can vary from town to town and county to county.
What’s the Difference Between Sex Offenders vs Predators?
No matter what charge you face, it is imperative to have an experienced criminal defense attorney with a sex crime background. This type of litigation goes beyond the courtroom. A simple accusation has the power to destroy reputations, ruin relationships and cause very real backlash in everyday living.
The consequences of being convicted follow you for a lifetime and limit your rights.
Sexual Offender: A person convicted of committing, attempting, soliciting, or conspiring to commit a sexual offense involving a minor.
Sexual Predator: Someone convicted of a sexual offense involving violence or repeat offenses.
As a former prosecutor, my experience gives you a significant advantage when litigating these charges in court. Sex crimes in Florida carry severe penalties, including lengthy prison sentences and registration as a sex offender. Do not risk your future or your freedom; call our office today at (407) 862-9222 for a free consultation. The sooner you hire our firm, the better we can build your defense and protect your rights. Ultimately, we aim to avoid conviction and seek the best possible outcome.
Rules for Sex Offenders and Predators.
Before we talk about laws, it is important to note that Municipalities are allowed to have stricter requirements than the states.
Registered Sex Offender/Predator
If convicted, offenders/predators have 48 hours to update their information with the local sheriff’s office. There is currently no provision to have your name removed from the registry, with the exception of very specific cases.
Travel: YES, as a convicted offender/predator Florida requires anyone visiting from another state to contact local law enforcement within 48 hours. There is a form to complete and provide a valid ID.
Sex Offender’s Driver’s License
Florida features sexual predator or offender designations on IDs and driver’s licenses.
Sex Offender’s Residency Restrictions
- Florida does not currently prohibit offenders/predators from living in certain areas or from sharing a residence with another sexual offender/predator or child/minor based on the requirement to register. However, check with local law enforcement as there may be area-specific ordinances in place.
- Convictions where children under 16 are involved, offenders/predators are not allowed to reside within 1,000 feet of schools, childcare facilities, playgrounds, and parks. Some counties have a minimum distance of 2,500 feet.
Proximity to Children (Florida Statutes 856)
- It is considered loitering or prowling if an offender/predator is within 300 feet of a place where children congregate. Safety zones include but are not limited to play areas, arcades, carnivals, zoos, school bus stops, and beaches.
- It is unlawful for a person to knowingly be present in a childcare facility or school (k-12) containing students without first; 1. Providing written notification 2. Notify the facility owner or principal on arrival and departure. 3. Remain under direct supervision while on campus.
- It is not a violation if you are legally voting, dropping off, or picking up your own child/grandchild.
- Sex offenders/predators are not allowed to work at businesses where children are typically present.
Florida Criminal Defense Attorney David A. Webster Can Help in Your Sex Offender Case.
Our firm has represented thousands of clients facing sex crime charges. Our experienced defense attorney will help you navigate proceedings and aggressively defend your rights in court. There is a chance we can have your charges reduced or even dismissed. Do not talk to the police or the victim/accuser. Email us or call our Longwood office today at (407) 862-9222 and schedule a FREE consultation. We will answer your questions and discuss options for obtaining a favorable outcome in your case.