Call to Schedule a Free Consultation at 407-862-9222

What Is Florida’s Felony Theft Threshold?

In Florida, theft is defined as taking another person’s property with the intent to temporarily or permanently deprive them of the object. The crime can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony. The theft threshold or the value of the pilfered item determines the level of offense.

Taking an Item Valued at $300 or More Is a Felony.

Currently, at $300, the state has one of the lowest theft thresholds in the country. That means a person could be accused of committing a felony if they steal an item worth that amount or more. Taking a cell phone from a store could land a person in jail for five years. On top of incarceration, the individual could also be ordered to pay a fine of up to $5,000.

Raising the Felony Theft Threshold

The harsh punishments for theft of an item valued at $300 or more will change. On October 1, 2019, a new law that increases the threshold to $750 will go into effect. That means that if a person takes an item below that amount, they could be charged with first-degree petty theft, which is a misdemeanor and not a felony. The maximum jail time for this offense is one year.

The change in Florida’s theft threshold helps the state remain current with similar laws nationwide. When Governor Ron DeSantis approved the bill in June of 2019, it marked the first time in 35 years that such an update was made to the legislation.

Aggregate Period Changes

If a person steals multiple items on different dates, the value of all the objects is combined to determine the total worth. Florida law limits the number of times thefts can be aggregated. Currently, it is set at 48 hours. When the new law takes effect, the period will extend to 30 days. That means if someone steals merchandise from various retailers over one month, which equals $3,000, they face a felony charge.

Schedule a Free Consultation with The Law Office of David A. Webster, P.A. Today

Being convicted of theft can have severe repercussions on your life, resulting in jail or prison time, fines, and difficulty getting a job after completing your sentence. Because the stakes are so high, you must have a skilled attorney on your side to fight the accusations against you. Our team is here to provide the skilled defense you need.

Discuss your case with us today by calling or filling out an online contact form.

Related Posts

Is it Legal for a 16-Year-Old to Date an 18-Year-Old in Florida?

The Webster Law Office provides a thorough overview of the age of consent laws in Florida, highlighting the legal nuances of relationships between minors and adults, specifically between 16-year-olds and 18-year-olds. It successfully clarifies the state’s legal stance, incorporating the “close-in-age” exemption under Florida law, which allows for certain consensual relationships within specific age parameters.

READ ARTICLE